How To: Love Reading Again

alejandroescamilla-book

The first time I ever read a book, it was given to me when I was in 5th grade: Judy Moody Gets Famous, and after that I was hooked. Some of my favorite juvenile books were:

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events
  2. Camp Confidential
  3. The Clique

Then I evolved into a more serious juvenile collection:

  1. Alex Rider (one of my favorites)
  2. Maximum Ride
  3. Gossip Girl
  4. Twilight
  5. The Mortal Instruments
  6. Harry Potter

I just couldn’t stop reading. But then college came around and reading for fun became scarce. I didn’t have time to read and when I did, I’d turn to Netflix and Hulu Plus instead. I switched from books to movies & TV shows because they were faster to sink in because you didn’t have to read. But I missed reading, I missed finishing a book and loving it so much that I’d go through withdrawal symptoms because I didn’t want the book to end.

Sometimes all it takes is one book to get the ball rolling, so here’s some suggestions to help the readers who’ve wandered off the trail and wanna to find their way to their love of books again.

**If you’ve never been into reading, this list MAY not be for you, but you can give it a shot!

1. Read a Book That Was Highly Recommended Specifically For You

If a friend knows what genre of books you like and they recommend something, you should give their suggestion a shot.

2. Read a Book That Went to the Big-Screen That You Really Enjoyed

You know how they say that the book is better than the movie? Well give the book a shot, if you liked the movie, there is a high chance you’ll like the book! I’ve done this numerous of times with Divergent, The Descendants & Harry Potter!

3. Read a Book On a Topic You Genuinely Want To Learn About

Whether you want to learn about success, health, photography, traveling, or even blogging, read it. And if it’s not to start reading again, do it because you’ll learn something about what you’re passionate about.

4. Reread a Book You Once Loved

You could learn something new or notice things you didn’t before. You’ll end up seeing the book in a new perspective and absorb things differently. You could also give another book from the same author a shot!

5. Try to Read an Actual Book

Avoid reading a book from a computer or a tablet (at least for the specific reason for this list). There are so many distractions on your computer and tablet. Out of maybe 10 books I’ve tried reading from a screen, I’ve probably only finished 3.

6. Set Aside Time In a Place With Absolutely No Distractions

Let your only source of entertainment be reading that book. It’ll force you to get started and once you do, you might not want to put it down. Take a book with you when you’re going to be in a waiting room.

7. Make It A Hobby Again

You’ve probably fell out of love with reading because of technology honestly, which is what happened to me. Read instead of watching TV. Read instead of swiping on your phone. Read instead of getting lost in a black hole online.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only once.”

christmas sig

Photo Credit: Unsplash 

5 thoughts on “How To: Love Reading Again

  1. OMG I remember The Clique!!! I used to be obsessed with those books!
    Great tips! Sometimes I just have to find that story that sparks my interest in reading again and then I remember how much I love getting lost in a good book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

